Hernando County FL Restaurants

HERNANDO is a fairly large place (589 square miles) with LOTS of restaurants (over 100 chain eateries from Hooters to Applebees alone)! So where do you find the local eateries with the distinctive regional recipes, individual creative flare and that are recognized by the locals as the best home town fare? (In other words, how do the *real* people live?) Here’s a small map I made up a while back of Brooksville’s Restaurants. I can’t do anything like this for the whole county, but you’ll find a lot of our county restaurants listed below the map, with links to their local websites (and hopefully their menu’s as well).
city-of-brooksville-restaurants-map

My personal local favorites from the map I made above are bolded in the list below (so those are just for the Brooksville Area). Those favorite, long established privately owned and run eateries are the Red Mule Pub in Brooksville (for their signature Reuben sandwiches), Papa Joe’s Italian Restaurant (for the seafood pasta!), the Main Street Eatery (healthy mostly fat free and try their Cuban sandwiches and killer hot chile!), the Rising Sun Cafe (that place is truly amazing – Lisa and John Callea own it, and are the founders of “Love Your Neighbor” charity outreach helping the homeless and homeless veterans in Hernando. Rising Sun Cafe has a beautiful atmosphere, often live music, hanging art displays, cavernous, cozy, rustic, hip… ouch! Go there.  And finally, last but certainly not least (in the Brooksville area) the unbeatable only “slightly” out of the way (but most definitely off the well beaten path nestled in the corner of the Withlacoochee State Forest) place to relax and enjoy nature with a modicum of civility – Nobleton Outpost RiverRatz Cafe (I like it, a lot). You can sign up for The RiverRatz Cafe newsletter written by owner Ferris Waller which will alert you to musical (and other) events he hosts at the outpost quite frequently. Here are some RiverRatz Cafe videos on YouTube of what you’re missing. Also, my personal prejudice? You will absolutely love Ferris!

Then there’s the famous Coney Island Drive Inn – Where legend has it that in 1961 when Elvis Presley was in Inverness Florida filming his 9th movie “Follow That Dream” he piled his crew into his Cadillac and headed down to Brooksville for a whole slew of its Famous Footlong hotdogs.

MANY LOCAL RESTAURANTS & THEIR WEBSITES YET TO COME – PLEASE BE PATIENT – THIS SITE IS JUST NOW BEING CREATED

 

Blanche’s Roadside BBQ http://www.blanchesroadsidebbq.webs.com/
Boston Cooker Restaurant and Oyster Bar http://www.bostoncooker.com/springhill/
Cafe Masaryktown Restaurant http://www.cafemasaryktown.com/menu.html
Carrabba’s http://www.carrabbas.com/?HomeStoreID=6047
CHICK-FIL-A, 13143 Cortez Blvd., Brooksville http://www.chick-fil-a.com/Cows/Campaign-History
Chili’s Spring Hill http://www.chilis.com/EN/Pages/LocationLanding.aspx?RestaurantId=001.005.0366&Tab=0&OnlineEnabled=True&Country=US
Cody’s Roadhouse on US19 http://www2.codysoriginalroadhouse.com/index.cfm
Coney Island Drive Inn http://www.gotfootlongs.com/
Family Restaurant and Sports Bar | Spring Hill, FL http://www.rookiessportsbarfl.com/
Felony’s Restaurant http://www.felonysbar.com/
Golden Corral http://www.goldencorral.com/menu/
Howard’s Take Out Barbecue, 316 E Dr M L King Jr Blvd, Brooksville, FL 34601 Primary Phone: (352) 544-2764 – Customer Review: “Great food. I would advise anyone to try Howards, The service is great, the location is in the middle of the community and I enjoy it every time I go, especially the home-made sweet potato pie” [no web site]
Joe & Gennaro’s Restaurant http://www.joeandgennarosrestaurant.com/
Kally K’s Steak & Fishery, Spring Hill, Florida Daily Specials http://www.kallyks.com/springhill/about-us.htm
Leslies Bistro – Hernando Beach http://www.lesliesbistro.com/
Main Street Eatery – Brooksville http://www.themainstreeteatery.com/menu.html
Marco’s Pizza Spring Hill FL http://marcos.com/stores/florida/213-marcos-pizza-spring-hill-florida-34609?view=store&sid=florida&id=213%3Amarcos-pizza-spring-hill-florida-34609
Maw’s Vittles Brooksville http://www.mawsvittles.com/
MONDAY’S- SOUL FOOD – Catering & Delivery – Spring Hill Veteran’s Memorial Park http://mondays352.webs.com/apps/location/
My Nanny’s Place http://www.hernandotourism.com/hernando-restaurants/my-nannys-restaurant-hernando-county/
Nobleton Outpost ”River Ratz Cafe” http://riverratzcafe.weebly.com/index.html http://www.nobletonoutpost.com/river-ratz-cafe.html
Outback Steakhouse-US 19 http://www.outback.com/
Papa Joe’s Italian Restaurant http://papajoes.org/?cbg_tz=240
Perkin’s-US19 http://www.perkinsrestaurants.com/
R Beach Restaurant http://www.rbeachrestaurant.com/
Red Lobster-US 19 http://www.redlobster.com/menus/
Red Mule Pub in Brooksville http://www.redmulepub.com/
The Bayport Inn http://www.bayportinnrestaurant.com/history.htm 
The Breakfast Station Restaurant in Brooksville, Florida http://www.thebreakfaststation.com/
The Rising Sun Café http://www.risingsuncafe.com/
Traderbay Seafood http://www.traderbayseafood.com/page1